top of page
Search

Healthy Summer Skin

Updated: Jun 2, 2021

Welcome, all! I'd like to introduce you to my blog, a place that I've decided not to dedicate to any particular topic. I'm not here to sell you my lifestyle products (well, not every time, that is...), but I am here to share some advice, recipes, and create a community for your overall wellness and betterment.


With that, I'd like to kickstart my blog with my first post -- by giving a brief review of how to start summer off right by following a healthy skincare routine. Here are some of my favorite tips for a healthy glow all summer long.

Summer Skincare Dos and Don'ts

Some DOs:


Exfoliate gently, 2-3 times a week. If you have acne-prone skin, skip heavy exfoliation and opt for a gentle skin cleanser designed for acne-prone skin, or one containing benzoyl peroxide.


A good stepwise regimen for facial skincare is:


Wash, tone, apply serum, apply moisture, apply SPF 30 or higher sunblock (*phew*) prior to any makeup for the day. I opt for a vitamin C serum during the day. You don't have to get "fancy" products; just find things that behave well on your skin--No. 7 is a great cruelty-free brand with many options to choose from. Do the same regimen at night, skipping the sunblock. I've been digging Farmacy SPF 30 mineral facial sunscreen for a while now. Sephora's INKEY list line of products is also affordable and of good quality, in my opinion.


For general body sunblock, choose a water resistant option, and re-apply every 2 hours (yes, that's for real)! If you have a hard time with this, just get the spray version. I like Sun Bum brand. It's affordable(ish), vegan, and available at Target. The smell reminds me of childhood, too!


Some DON'Ts:


Notice how the above regimen didn't have include any makeup wipes in it? That's because those aren't for cleaning your faces and are terrible for your skin, my little doves. Plus, they are terrible for the environment. Got it? Great.



Another DON'T: try your best not to fall asleep in your makeup. I know it's hard sometimes, and that's probably how makeup wipes came to exist in the first place, but wash your face before you hit the couch for that Netflix and you'll have a much better chance of avoiding that common Friday (or Saturday, and Sunday) night mistake!



I hope these tips help you live in your best summer skin! Stay safe out there!


-Dr. Meg




188 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page